vegan lunchmeat

Now that Harper is crawling EVERYWHERE and pulling up on everything she can, I have to keep my eye on her 24/7. I need to get one of those play areas that trap them inside of it so I can get a little more accomplished. By the way, why am I not smaller and more toned than before I had her? I don’t sit down all day for the most part and I’m constantly picking her up and moving her away from the stairs. These are the things I think about. *sigh*  Welp, onto reality…

I don’t like spending a lot of time preparing a lunch for myself during the week, because I honestly just don’t have the time. So when I found this vegan lunchmeat recipe from one of my favorite blogs, Vegan DadI went to Whole Foods that day, got these simple ingredients and made this wonderful lunchmeat.

This recipe is super fast, super cheap and lasts us up to a week. I won’t lie – at first the texture is a little awkward, but the taste makes up for it and you get used to it. I love this recipe and thought it was perfect, so I didn’t change a thing about it.

ingredients:

1 cup white beans
2 cups water
1/4 cup oil
2 tsp salt
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic
1/4 tsp tumeric
1 tsp ground fennel
1 tsp sage
1 tsp pepper
1 tsp soy sauce
2 3/4 cup vital wheat gluten

directions:

Start steaming water in your steamer
  1. Place all ingredients except the gluten flour in a blender and process until smooth. Pour into a bowl. Add gluten flour and work into a dough.
  2. Shape dough into a log and wrap in heavy duty foil. Try to make the roll as thick as possible. Steam for 1 hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees in the last 15 mins of steaming. Remove “meat” from steamer and bake for 45-60 mins.
  4. Cool and slice when ready to make sandwich. Store in refrigerator.

2 thoughts on “vegan lunchmeat

Leave a comment